Skip to Content

Website Search

December 17, 2017

Power Up

Board of Directors

District 1: Kenny Squires, Secretary

Director Kenny Squires

Election Year: 2019, 2022, 2025

Kenneth and his wife Joyce live in Otter Creek Township near Center Point.

Occupation: Farmer, retired Pioneer Seed Corn dealer





District 2: Kirk Hiland, Treasurer

Director Kirk Hiland

Election Year: 2020, 2023, 2026

Kirk and his wife Theresa live in Penn Township in North Liberty. 

Occupation: Managing Broker, NAI Iowa Realty Commercial. Adjunct Instructor-University of Iowa, College of Business




District 3: Roger Krug, Asst. Secretary

Director Roger Krug

Election Year: 2020, 2023,2026

Roger lives in Fairfax Township in Fairfax.

Occupation: Farmer






District 4: Jeanna Sager

Gina Saeger-web.jpg

Election Year: 2018, 2021, 2024

Jeanna and her husband Larry live in Monroe Township in Hiawatha.

Occupation: Retired






District 5: Lisa Rose

Director Lisa Rose

Election Year: 2019, 2022, 2025

Lisa and her husband Roger live in Linn Township near Springville.

Occupation: Vice President, State Services, Pearson





District 6: Gary Schropp, President


Election Year: 2018, 2021, 2024

Gary and his wife Sue live in Jefferson Township near Swisher.

Occupation: Electrical Substation Arc-Flash Project Leader, Leidos




District 7: Ronald O'Neil, Vice President

Director Ronald O'Neil

Election Year: 2020, 2023, 2026

Ronald and his wife Jackie live in Cedar township near Solon.

Occupation: VJ Engineering, General Manager and Aviation Specialist




Director Qualifications

Members interested in running for a Linn County Rural Electric Cooperative board of director position must meet the qualifications set forth in the cooperative’s articles of incorporation and bylaws.

Board of director requirements are set under Article IX, Section 3 states: “the individual (1) must be a bona fide resident of the district for which he or she is nominated, (2) must hold membership in the Cooperative for at least one year, (3) must be receiving electric service from the Cooperative at the location where he or she resides, (4) must not be in any way employed by or extensively financially interested in a competing enterprise or business selling electric energy or electrical supplies to the Cooperative, or a business primarily engaged in selling electrical or plumbing appliances, fixtures or supplies to the members of the Cooperative, and (5) in the case of a joint membership, either one but not both may serve as a director at any given time, and both joint members must meet all of the other qualifications set forth herein (6) must not be so closely related to any Cooperative employee so as to violate the Cooperative’s Employment of Relatives Policy EP-11, (7) must not be a current or former employee of the Cooperative, and (8) shall not be a convicted felon.

Director Responsibilities

The primary duty of the directors is to establish rules, regulations and policies that guide the operations of the cooperative. They include:

  • Establishing and maintaining corporate existence
  • Trusteeship of member interests
  • Planning and controlling
  • Providing facilities, finances and authorities
  • Time Commitment

Director Time Commitment

Being a board member requires a large time commitment. The average number of hours spent by a Linn County Rural Electric Cooperative board member on a monthly basis is 16-18 hours. This time includes training, participation in legislative activities, keeping up to date on electric utility trends, and preparing for regular board meetings.

Members of Linn County REC can run for the board of directors, serve on the nominating committee, and vote for directors at the annual meeting. If you are interested in serving on the nominating committee or running for the board of directors, please contact Jennifer Feddersen at (319) 377-1587 or toll free at 1-800-332-5420.

Attending a Board Meeting

Board Meeting Attendance Policy and Form



Learn more about energy efficiency and get rewarded with our incentives.

Save energy, save money

Outage Center

storm and outage center

Our storm updates with status map will give you information when you need it.

Stay informed, stay safe

Linn County REC

5695 REC Drive
P.O. Box 69
Marion, IA 52302

Call Us

Local: 319-377-1587
Toll Free: 1-800-332-5420 (IA Only)
Bill Payments: 1-877-999-9619

Contact Us

Questions & Comments
Business Hours: M-F, 8AM to 4:30PM

Watch Us on YouTube